Love Me or Hate Me

As I work with businesses all over the Mississippi Delta and some across the country with social media one thing keeps coming up. Fear.

Businesses are afraid of offending or afraid of putting out content that doesn’t “look” good or they are afraid of people talking bad about their product or service on social media.

Fear only leads to being paralyzed. If you are afraid to post you won’t and you will be missing out on the best free advertising you have ever done. The worst thing you can do is to not participate.

Yes, you will make mistakes but you have to run off the cliff every now and then to figure out where the edge is. Some people are going to hate what you do no matter what it is. That is why we don’t just have chocolate and vanilla ice cream, we have literally millions of flavors. Some people won’t like the sweet potato gelato by Sweet Magnolia that I love. Some will in fact hate it.

Some people are just mean. After starting my videos on @staffordeshurden on Facebook I got called Donald Trump so many times I thought about getting a military cut… or a Mohawk, but I kept posting. The most hate I ever got was on my most popular video.

You can’t post too much content. Whether building a personal brand or a business brand the first step is taking the first step and by the way I am here to help with no charge. This is a trial and error endeavor. If you learn to create good content it will never be too much. So what if a few people quit following you. They were never ever going to buy from you anyway.

I say this all the time but what we are really doing on the internet today isn’t selling. It is building a brand. My goal is for 350 million people to know who I am. It is not the sprint it’s the marathon and the haters in this epic race are just as important. Ask Trump. Love him or hate him he is the President.  Love me or hate me, at least you know my name.

Stafford Shurden is a marketing and business coach and has been in business for himself for 20 years. He also owns 1933 Restaurant, Shurden Farms, and Stafford Media. You can email Stafford at staffordshurden@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

