You’re Gonna Die

For as long as human history has been self aware we have searched for everlasting life on earth only to find it has slipped our grasp each and every time. Imagine a world in which you always had tomorrow. There would be absolutely no urgency. If death was not ever creeping closer then why do today what you can put off until tomorrow? What difference would it make?

The fact is we all have a terminal disease called life. We will all die. Some sooner than others. This fact alone should give you absolute motivation to start whatever it is you want to do with your life right now.

Now I am a Christian and I believe in life after death but that does not mean that I don’t have some really important things I want to do in this life on earth. I think it is really helpful for us to want a legacy. In general, I want to leave this world better than I found it. That is my master plan.

The fact that you will die should be enough to start right now on that one thing you always wanted to do and while I generally write on business and social media maybe that one thing is climbing Mount Everest or learning to fly.

Go hang around a nursing home for a while and you will discover that the main term you hear is regret. I use the “rocking chair” test on my life. I imagine a time when I have come into my twilight years and I ask myself what I wished I had done. Then I do it. There will come a day when it is too late to start.

The main reason we don’t achieve is because we never start. The main reason we never start is because we are afraid to fail. We fear how we will look to others, but the main failure will be felt when we are old and gray and cannot do those things anymore.

I may fail and I may look foolish sometimes but I have been right a lot too. It’s time to take a freaking risk. You won’t live forever.

Leave a Reply

